2014!

Happy New Year!

It’s become almost a tradition for me to dust off my old blog account(s) during the new year and vow to start updating again, so I will skip the self-loathing and (possibly empty) promises and will just pick up where I left off.

I didn’t have high hopes for 2013–maybe simply because “13” isn’t the most appealing number.  But it’s been a crazy eventful year.  We started off the year to amazing views of non-stop fireworks from my parents’ high-rise apartment in Metro Manila.  When we returned, I started a new job as an associate producer for the local NPR station.

So much of the ups and downs to the year have been related to work.  I love my job.  I look forward to going to work everyday.  Doing something I love outside the home (and getting paid to do it) has done wonders in helping me rediscover a part of myself that’s basically been dormant since I got married and put aside intellectual stimulation (apart from copious amounts of reading and, well, grad school) in favor of travel and babies.  But my job is also somewhat terrifying.  So much is still new and I often jump into a project first and then learn how to do it afterward.  I still have butterflies in my stomach every time I start a new story.  Most of the time, the combination of challenge and passion is ideal.  But it’s scary.

I didn’t consciously pick a word of the year or a “theme” for 2013, but in hindsight, I know what’s been driving me since summer of 2012 is the push to be BRAVE.  To take risks.  To put myself out there and dream big.  In so many ways, that’s paid off.  But this year, I think I want to take a step back and take a deep breath.  I want to keep pushing myself at work, of course, but I want to relax and enjoy the ride.  This idea of catching my breath, of surrendering, applies to my personal life, too.

Here’s to 2014.  May it be rejuvenating; full of hope, rest, and the best kind of adventures.

 

Author: Kate

I'm middle school English teacher in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Before moving to Asia, I reported statewide news for a Pennsylvania public radio station. I've lived in five countries and traveled to dozens. I really enjoy rearranging my furniture.

Leave a Reply

