Books read in 2013

I haven’t actually kept track of books read perhaps since I participated in middle school reading contests, but now I’m thinking I should!  This morning I sat down to try to remember everything I read this past year (with the aid of library e-mails and Kindle records) and it was really hard!  

Here’s a list of the books I remember reading this year (asterisks by the titles I recommend), in no particular order:
(I didn’t include books I started but don’t intend to ever finish.)

*The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – Deborah Moggach
The Messenger – Markus Zusak
*Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
**Where’d You Go, Bernadette? – Maria Semple
The Uncoupling – Meg Wolitzer
***The Orphan Master’s Son – Adam Johnson (best book I’ve read in a long time)

*Divergent – Veronica Roth
Insurgent – Veronica Roth
Allegiant – Veronica Roth
*Ex Libris – Ann Fadiman (reread; an old favorite from college)
The Woman Upstairs – Claire Messud
*Sweet Tooth – Ian McEwan (my first McEwan and I really enjoyed this!)

Atonement – Ian McEwan
*Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
Super Sad True Love Story – Gary Shteyngart
The Fault in the Stars – John Green
Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures – Emma Straub
Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls – Anton Disclafani
*Lean-In – Sheryl Sandburg
The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

The Associate – John Grisham (what can I say?  Airplane reading.)
The Litigators – John Grisham (ditto)
Austenland – Shannon Hale (ditto)

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins (reread)
Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins (reread)
Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins (reread)
*Graceling – Kristin Cashore
Fire – Kristin Cashore
Bitterblue – Kristin Cashore
The Engagements – J. Courtney Sullivan
The Cheesemonkeys – Chip Kidd
The Moon and More – Sarah Dessen
Muchacho – LouAnne Johnson
Godmother – Carolyn Turgeon
The Radio Producer’s Handbook  Kaempfer
Sound Reporting: The NPR Guide to Audio Journalism and Production 

In process:
The Circle – Dave Eggers
The Interestings – Meg Wolitzer
The Lowland – Jhumpa Lahiri
Quiet – Susan Cain 
Tinkers – Paul Harding
Author: Kate

I'm middle school English teacher in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Before moving to Asia, I reported statewide news for a Pennsylvania public radio station. I've lived in five countries and traveled to dozens. I really enjoy rearranging my furniture.

Leave a Reply

