Recently enjoyed

WATCHING

We finally (finally!) finished House of Cards. DOUG STAMPER. That is all.

Paul and I watched Contact — the first time for him. I watched it in the theater when it first came out but wow, watching it again showed me I had no idea what it meant as a 14-year-old. This time around, I found it stunning and thought-provoking and I know the film will stay with me for months (years!) to come.

READING

I remember loving Thomas Hardy’s Far from the Madding Crowd in high school. I’m rereading it now (the movie is coming out, after all) and I’m loving it. It’s way denser (and cleverer) than I remember.

I read Station Eleven and Girl on the Train during my whirlwind trip to New Orleans. I highly recommend the former but the latter was, well… a good choice for travel but not something I’d revisit nor necessarily recommend. (And for the record, I enjoyed Gone Girl).

The Royal We–I love Go Fug Yourself. This is a fun and quick read (although I felt like the ending left me hanging!).

WEARING

I’ve been wearing a linen pocket tee from Loft (similar) as frequently as I dare.

It’s finally warm enough to pull out my saltwater sandals.

LISTENING

Our whole family loves Brains On!, a science podcast for kids.

MISSING

My bus commute: my normal route only runs during the school year. I’m going to miss it so much. It was the perfect time to enjoy my coffee, read for fun, listen to podcasts (or, occasionally, 90s Danish boy bands).

IMG_5703LOVING

I’ve been gradually building up an audio recording kit so I can freelance after I leave my reporting job. So far I scored a (beautiful) Marantz PMD661 (via Craigslist), an Electro-Voice RE50B omnidirectional mic (via eBay), and Sony MDR-7506 headphones (Mother’s Day present). Next on my list is a shotgun mic. Very exciting.

Lo & Sons. I purchased the OG for work/travel. I used it during my New Orleans trip and it made for a terrific carry-on. Even better, it’s become my work bag so I use it daily. I also purchased the Pearl. It is the PERFECT everyday bag. It looks great with everything, it’s the perfect size, and it’s comfortable to carry. The bags are very pricy, but they’re worth it (providing you have the pennies–I saved up!). Also, keep in mind the company has significant (15-35% off) sales practically every month, so if the bag you want isn’t on sale now, it’s probably worth waiting.

Author: Kate

I'm middle school English teacher in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Before moving to Asia, I reported statewide news for a Pennsylvania public radio station. I've lived in five countries and traveled to dozens. I really enjoy rearranging my furniture.

Leave a Reply

