Recently enjoyed

LISTENING Mystery Show podcast, Gimlet Media‘s newest offering. It is whimsical, funny, and surprisingly moving. I buzzed through the first three episodes driving to Philadelphia last week and at times, I felt like my heart was going to burst with emotion. Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 11.51.59 AM Music: As I mentioned before, I’ve been feeling “off” music lately. But I managed to cobble together a mix that I love.

DRINKING Cold brew coffee. My little brother and his wife received a Hario Mizudashi cold brew coffee pot as a wedding gift and I remember being intrigued (I have a slight addiction to coffee accoutrements). He loves it! We decided to purchase one in preparation for the Kaohsiung heat and have loved it so far. As in, we now drink way too much coffee. Cold brewed coffee is special— it’s smooth and sweet and really, really delicious.

EATING Paul brought me a package of stroopwafels from Amsterdam. They’re delicious and happen to fit perfectly over a mug I picked up at St. Vincent de Paul. Remember how I said I’m addicted to coffee paraphernalia? I just cannot resist a pretty mug (even though I am in the middle of packing the dozens I already have). Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 12.00.40 PMWEARING I picked up a pair of chambray pants from Target, thinking they’d be nice and cool for lounging around in Kaohsiung. I was a little worried they’d look too pajama-like, but Paul actually thinks they look “classy.” Ha. Anyway, they’re way more flattering than the picture on the website suggests. But they are just as comfortable as you’d think. (I’ve worn them three days straight.) Incidentally, chambray has been trendy for years but now it’s everywhere. And Target now has every iteration of chambray you can imagine: dresses, shorts, pants, shirts.

READING Recently finished Jenny Offill’s Dept. of Speculation and Marissa Meyer’s Cinder. Both compelling but neither left me satisfied (albeit for good reasons). I’m currently reading David Mitchell’s The Bone Clocks and I’m a bit surprised by how much I’m liking it.

WATCHING Bill Nye the Science Guy on Netflix. Fun for the whole family.

Author: Kate

I'm middle school English teacher in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Before moving to Asia, I reported statewide news for a Pennsylvania public radio station. I've lived in five countries and traveled to dozens. I really enjoy rearranging my furniture.

Leave a Reply

